ReviewEm
Reviews, Critiques and Everything


All | Watch | Tech | Read | Play | Else

AddThis Feed Button
20110709 Saturday July 09, 2011

Transformers 3 Dark of the Moon breaks records, hits $500 million worldwide in 9 days

tfw2005.com -> boxofficemojo.com :

Transformers 3 : Dark of the Moon tore past the $500 million worldwide mark yesterday [7 Jul 2011], which was its 9th day in theaters. That broke the 10-day record held by Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End and Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides. Those movies went on to earn $963.4 million and $1.014 billion (and counting), respectively, which looks like a good target range for Dark of the Moon.

Transformers : Dark of the Moon has so far earned $214 million domestically. Overseas, Dark of the Moon has already earned a massive $297.1 million. Based on its current pace, Transformers: Dark of the Moon will rocket past $600 million worldwide on Saturday, its 11th day in theaters. Adding to its impressiveness is that it's hitting these numbers before striking China (July 21) and Japan (July 29). While it's a bit premature, Dark of the Moon appears to be on pace to ultimately close with over $1 billion worldwide. If Transformers avoids getting completely steamrolled by Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 next week, then it should become the 9th $1 billion movie in history.

- That was really fast, as we watched the worldwide box office receipts for Transformers 3 : Dark of the Moon rocket past $300 million, $400 million and now $500 million on the way to a $1 billion total box office. And that's not even counting the Blu-Ray and DVD's yet which are coming in Nov 2011 which could bring the count to $2 billion in time to come.

Of course, this being possibly the last Michael Bay directed Transformers movie might have something to do with it. But there seems to be more story left to tell, especially the last part about Optimus Prime and Megatron which seemed to take place a bit abruptly. Already there are people talking about Transformers 4 - we'll have to see about that.

See also :

1. Transformers 2 : Revenge of the Fallen movie HD trailer download
2. Transformers 2 : Revenge of the Fallen HD Movie Trailer 3 direct download

(2011-07-09 22:57:48 SGT) [Watch] Permalink

20091228 Monday December 28, 2009

Lenovo S12 Nvidia Ion netbook not coming to Singapore?

I mean, what is it with Lenovo. Went down to Sim Lim Square and asked a couple of retailers and both of them confirmed that the Lenovo S12 Ion-powered netbook is not going to be imported into Singapore. What is Lenovo thinking, not wanting to make money or something? I didn't see the equally Ion-powered Samsung N510 as well, and the retailers had no clue on that one either. So one might think, okay, perhaps if Lenovo doesn't want to make money, so be it, but Samsung too? That cannot be. That would be unbelievable.

Found a couple of links talking about this. We seem to be suffering from the same problem that our American friends endured during the introduction of the Canon SX1IS Powershot : manufacturers dividing the global market into arbitrary zones and making arbitrary decisions on product introduction, perhaps afraid that it might cannibalize their sales in another area, or maybe it's a case of over-inventory of one type of product, fears of over market segmentation - or something. Hence, out of 3 possible netbook models with the Nvidia Ion graphics chipset, over in Singapore we're just left with the HP Mini 311, with which I have a few issues with the design, colour and keyboard layout (nothing really wrong, it's just a matter of personal preferences). Not so much of a choice, is there?

Well, of course I'm voting with my dollars. If it's not exactly what I'm looking for, I don't buy it. Heck, I have enough computers at home already that it is becoming something of a management issue with all the regular security patches, application updates, backups, stuff like that. Sure I can wait, hold out, and save my dollars for better things. Or perhaps it's just early days yet and we'll see what transpires in the local Nvidia Ion netbook market as we head from 2009 into 2010. We'll see.

See also :

1. Asus Eee Box B202 nettop PC specifications and review
2. Samsung Jet S8000 review and technical specifications
3. Samsung N510 netbook review and specs : Nvidia Ion, 11.6-inch display, Intel Atom N280

(2009-12-28 12:32:46 SGT) [Tech] Permalink

20091116 Monday November 16, 2009

Asia/Singapore : Starhub Mobile joins M1, Singtel in selling Apple iPhone

channelnewsasia.com, tech.yahoo.com :

StarHub has announced that it will bring the Apple iPhone to its customers in Singapore in late 2009 after reaching an agreement with Apple. The telco said it looks forward to offering the iPhone to its customers. StarHub is the last of the three mobile phone service providers in Singapore to reach a deal with Apple in offering the iPhone. Last month, M1 said it would also sell the iPhone later this year. SingTel began offering the Apple iPhone 3G late last year. Since then, with the exclusive agreement, SingTel has sold more than 100,000 iPhones.

Neither StarHub or M1 has yet revealed price plans for the iPhone. SingTel's plans range from a monthly charge of S$39 (US$28) to S$205, and offer from 500MB to 3GB of data per month. For SingTel's cheapest iPhone plan, users pay from S$398 for an iPhone 3G 8GB to S$678 for an iPhone 3GS 32GB. Users that sign up for more expensive plans get the handsets for free.

- If you're looking for a mobile phone in Singapore, you now have the option of getting the Apple iPhone 3GS and later, from any of the 3 service providers here, now that Starhub Mobile has finally joined the other operators M1 Mobile and Singtel in offering bundled iPhone deals. In Asia, Singapore is usually considered one of the rather more high-tech cities, so one might wonder what took them this long. But with the announcement out, all that remains to be seen is the exact handset and pricing plans and then it's probably time for some good old-fashioned price maneuvering especially with the holiday season coming up. And of course if you already have one, you could check out the accessories here.

See also :

1. SingTel to launch Apple iPhone in Singapore
2. Samsung Jet S8000 review and technical specifications
3. M1 reaches deal to start selling Apple iPhone in Singapore

(2009-11-16 07:08:48 SGT) [Tech] Permalink

20091013 Tuesday October 13, 2009

M1 reaches deal to start selling Apple iPhone in Singapore

tech.yahoo.com :

Mobile operator MobileOne (M1) has reached a deal with Apple to sell the Apple iPhone in Singapore. Currently, the iPhone is only offered in Singapore by rival operator SingTel, which began selling the handsets last year. The iPhone handsets sold by SingTel are unlocked, but customers must sign a two-year contract when they buy one.

- Great news for M1 users who have always wanted an Apple iPhone but for whatever reason (brand loyalty? sheer hassle? corporate mobile phone plans?) have not switched to SingTel by now. Or perhaps it could be a good thing because in the tech world, you don't really want to go with Version 1.0. Hence M1 customers will start with the latest Apple iPhone 3GS - and beyond.

See also :

1. SingTel to launch Apple iPhone in Singapore
2. Samsung Jet S8000 review and technical specifications

(2009-10-13 17:22:11 SGT) [Tech] Permalink Comments [1]

20091002 Friday October 02, 2009

Samsung N510 netbook review and specs : Nvidia Ion, 11.6-inch display, Intel Atom N280

engadget.com -> pcpro.co.uk :

The Samsung N510 Nvidia Ion-powered netbook has just had a review written with technical specifications included :

... underneath that Clark Kent exterior lays a superpower in the world of netbooks. We're not talking about the same old 1.66GHz Intel Atom N280 processor, the gigabyte of memory, nor the 160GB hard disk, but rather the presence of Nvidia's Ion LE graphics chipset. Before you get too excited, be aware that Nvidia's Ion LE is no miracle worker. It does, however, add gaming capabilities where there were previously next to none. It won't turn an Atom-powered netbook into a gaming behemoth capable of taking on the likes of Crysis ... fire up the likes of Trackmania Nations Forever and the N510 is in its element. Even at the 11.6in display's native resolution of 1,366 x 768, the Ion LE helped the Samsung along to a smooth 27.1fps.

And here are the tech specs :

Dimensions : 289 x 200 x 31mm (WDH)
Weight : 1.41kg [3.1 pounds]
CPU : Intel Atom N280
RAM : 1GB
Display : 11.6-inch
Resolution : 1366 x 768
Graphics chipset : Nvidia ION LE
Hard disk : SATA 160GB HDD
Wireless : 802.11b/g/n

Myself, I have been holding off buying a netbook while waiting for models which include the long-awaited Nvidia Ion graphics chipset. And with 2 full-sized HP/Compaq PC's, an Asus nettop *and* a Compaq laptop in the house, and the occasional Lenovo Thinkpad from the office, it's not that I really lack computers in any way.

And when the news broke that consumers might just have to wait a bit longer for these new Nvidia Ion-powered models to ship together with Microsoft Windows 7, I'd suppose the community just did a big shrug and thought, fine, we've waited this long anyway. Oh, the sacrifices we make just to get a nice, (relatively) affordable netbook that also happens to play some 3D games, decode HD/h.264 videos at 720p/1080p resolution and so on.

This should be great, unless the folks doing the Samsung N510 vs Lenovo S12 comparisons say otherwise. Me, I'd guess I'd rather choose not to be confused with the Lenovo S12 models however, because apparently they do have "Non-Ion" models whereas with the Samsung it's pretty straightforward. I haven't got the N510 yet, but I'm really thinking about getting myself one when it does appear at the shops here. And then that would be *one more* computer in the house ... :)

See also :

1. Asus Eee Box B202 nettop PC specifications and review
2. Samsung Jet S8000 review and technical specifications
3. Samsung OMNIA II my early birthday present.. yay..
4. Samsung Omnia II review.. i so heart my Omnia 2

(2009-10-02 11:02:25 SGT) [Tech] Permalink

20090819 Wednesday August 19, 2009

Sony PS3 slim unveiled with price cuts to $300 for both regular and slim Sony Playstation 3 editions

The new Sony PS3 slim edition has been unveiled with specfications that include a 120GB HDD and a release date of 1 Sep 2009. engadget.com reports that "Sony got on stage today at GamesCom and confirmed what we've all known deep down in our hearts: the new, slimmer PS3 is really real. It'll be out in the first week of September (September 1 in North America and Europe, September 3 for Japan), and will retail for $300. It's smaller and lighter, has a 120GB HDD, and packs "all the same features" of the regular PS3 while consuming 34 percent less power and taking up 32 percent less space." Engadget also has a Sony PS3 slim unboxing feature where it has been reported that "the buttons in the front are now physical and actually "click" in to function. The PS logo above the disc drive does not rotate for vertical use, and yes, the hard drive is swappable".

Meanwhile, Yahoo notes that "Sony Corp.'s move to cut the price of its PlayStation 3 console by $100 comes well ahead of the holiday season and should boost sales not just for Sony but the video game industry as a whole during this important period." and Electronics Arts CEO says Sony's decision to cut the price of the PlayStation 3 is a "bold move done precisely at the right time." Sony Corp. said Tuesday it is cutting the price of the console by $100, bringing the 80-gigabyte version to $299 effective immediately. A slimmer PS3 with a larger hard drive launches in a few weeks, also for $299.

- It's great that the Sony PS3 slim edition is 32% smaller, and more importantly to the environmentally-minded, uses 34% less power than its predecessor. The long-fabled price cuts help too, which is something that both consumers and games publishers including Electronics Arts have been looking out for a long time. Here are the pros and cons of the Sony PS3 slim at a glance :

Pros :

+ Cheaper at about US$300 compared to US$600 at launch of the first edition
+ 32% smaller, slimmer profile
+ Uses 34% less power
+ Matt finish makes it less of a fingerprint magnet
+ 120GB HDD improves on 80GB HDD of prior edition

Cons :

- No longer Linux compatible as earlier editions were
- No longer compatible with Sony PS2 games as earlier editions were

If you don't mind the above two minor points, which most users probably would not be too bothered about, outside of the enthusiast and retro-gaming community, then the Sony PS3 slim looks to be a great buy.

(2009-08-19 13:08:16 SGT) [Play] Permalink





Most popular blog postings on ReviewEm :

1. Samsung Jet S8000 review and technical specifications
2. Transformers 2 : Revenge of the Fallen movie HD trailer download
3. Canon SX1 IS review : 560mm 20x optical zoom, 1080p HD video, DIGIC 4 - a power-packed PowerShot
4. Samsung N510 netbook review and specs : Nvidia Ion, 11.6-inch display, Intel Atom N280
5. Transformers 2 : Revenge of the Fallen HD Movie Trailer 3 direct download
6. Canon SX1 IS specifications announced : 20X optical zoom, 10-megapixel CMOS sensor, HD 1080p video
7. Asus Eee Box B202 nettop PC specifications and review
8. Sony PS3 slim unveiled with price cuts to $300 for both regular and slim Sony Playstation 3 editions

Featured articles on ReviewEm :

1. Asus Eee Box B202 nettop PC specifications and review
2. Canon SX1 IS review : 560mm 20x optical zoom, 1080p HD video, DIGIC 4 - a power-packed PowerShot
3. Canon SX1 IS specifications announced : 20X optical zoom, 10-megapixel CMOS sensor, HD 1080p video
4. Fast and Furious 4 movie review
5. M1 reaches deal to start selling Apple iPhone in Singapore
6. Samsung Jet S8000 review and technical specifications
7. Samsung N510 netbook review and specs : Nvidia Ion, 11.6-inch display, Intel Atom N280
8. Sony PS3 slim unveiled with price cuts to $300 for both regular and slim Sony Playstation 3 editions





search
sponsored links


bookmarks

about
my profile
contact me

blogroll
biow/ken/wenn
lowem
dividend investing

quotes
live oil prices
live gold prices

charts
live forex rates
live oil chart
live brent crude chart
live gold chart
live silver chart

historical
crude oil chart
gold chart
silver chart


navigation
decals

Click for Singapore, Singapore Forecast





rss feed for reviewem

Get Firefox!

powered by
hosted by